top of page

☆ a guide to color coordination ☆

"Does this match?"


The age old question. I know everyone has asked this question when getting dressed at least ONCE before. Unless maybe you're like Zendaya or like Rihanna and everything you wear is amazing. If not, then you're like the rest of the population, and you sometimes need help matching your clothes. Luckily for you ;), I have some easy guides I use when putting outfits together. Let's jump into the exciting world of, COLOR COORDINATIONN!!


The Color Wheel


We've all seen this wheel before in our lives, but you probably don't realize how helpful it can be when picking outfits. I'm gonna discuss a few color harmonies from the color wheel that are helpful to me, along with some additional harmonies I follow myself.


Color Harmonies


Complementary 


Complementary colors are colors that are opposite of each other on the color wheel, these are considered to be complimentary. The contrast between the colors are visually pleasing and are always a good choice when putting clothes together.


Examples:


purple+yellow


orange+blue


red+green



Anagolous


Anagolous colors are a series colors that are right next to each other on the color wheel. Although the colors are right next to each other, there is still contrast. Usually, one color dominates, the second is used to support, and the last is used to accent.


Examples:


blue+purple+pink



orange+yellow



yellow+green+blue



Monochromatic


A monochromatic color scheme only contains on color with variations in shades.


Examples:


pinks


yellows


greys


lavender



These are just a few basic guides that definitely help me when getting dressed! More posts will be coming the future exploring even more color schemes I like to implement in my style!


- xoxo ♡

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page